According to the company’s announcement made earlier in January, users must agree with the new terms of data sharing till 8 of February, otherwise their accounts will be deleted. After the announcement, many people reacted negatively by switching to other messengers such as Telegram and Signal.
According to the Friday statement, user accounts will not be suspended or deleted on 8 February. The platform wants more time for users to carefully review the new policy before new business options are imposed on 15 May.
WhatsApp underlined that the data shared among users in personal conversations will stay protected with end-to-end encryption and “neither WhatsApp nor Facebook can see these private messages.”
The updates include “options people will have to message a business on WhatsApp” along with further transparency on the company’s collection and use of user data.
Noting that the new term rules do not expand its ability to share data with Facebook, WhatsApp said that it would like more people to shop with a business using the messenger.
DETAILS TO FOLLOW
0.00 (0%) 0 votes